Rare Birds Book Club: February 2019

After what felt like the longest January ever, February is flying by!

I really loved the last Rare Birds Book Club book, “Dear Mrs Bird” and was looking forward to seeing what February had in store. So when we were a couple of weeks into the month and my book still hadn’t arrived, I thought I had best find out where it had got to. After a speedy response from the Rare Birds, it was confirmed that my copy must have got lost in the post and a new one was sent out straight away – fab customer service!


Thoughts:

February’s book is “The Illumination of Ursula Flight” by Anna Marie Crowhurst, another piece of historical fiction.

Set in the 1660s, this isn’t an era I’ve read a lot about before and not really something I would usually pick up so I have to admit that I was a little disappointed at first. But reading more in to it, I’ve learned that this is described as “a gutsy coming-of-age story about a spirited young woman struggling to lead a creative life.” Recommended for fans of Jessie Burton and Sarah Waters – and that’s definitely me!

And anyway, the whole point of this book club is to explore readers you wouldn’t usually come across, reading books that haven’t been getting the attention they deserve!

I’m loving the 2019 Rare Birds Reading Challenge so far as it’s encouraging me to read the book before the end of the month rather than putting it off for a few weeks (and for January, I was so so glad that I did!). Keep your eyes peeled for my review in a few weeks to see what I make of this month’s book! (update: my review is here)


Have you tried any book subscription services? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments!

One thought on “Rare Birds Book Club: February 2019

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s