Blog Tour: The Killer You Know by S.R. Masters

The Killer You Know
by S.R. Masters

Publication date: August 30th 2018
Publisher: Sphere
Pages: 400


It’s my stop on the “The Killer You Know” blog tour! Random Things Tours have provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. If you’d like to learn more about this book, check out the other blogs on the tour, see what people have to say on Goodreads and head over to the author’s Twitter page.


Summary:

I’ll murder three strangers. And you’ll know it was me. That way we’ll all be connected. Always.

When Will jokes about becoming a serial killer, his friends just laugh it off. But Adeline can’t help but feel there’s something more sinister lurking behind his words.

Fifteen years later, Adeline returns to Blythe for a reunion of the old gang – except Will doesn’t show up. Reminiscing about old times, they look up the details of his supposed murder spree. But the mood soon changes when they discover two recent deaths that match.

As the group attempt to track Will down, they realise that he is playing a sinister game that harks back to one they used to play as kids. Only this time there are lives at stake…

A gripping and atmospheric debut psychological thriller – perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Alex Marwood. 

Source: Goodreads


Thoughts:

Imagine you’re 16, chatting with your friends about the future and where you see yourself in another 16 years. Someone wants to be a doctor, a film critic, an actress and a journalist – all plausible and sensible ideas. But then imagine that someone tells you that they plan to become a serial killer – errrr, hang on!

This is exactly what happens in “The Killer You Know”. Before going their separate ways after a summer together, Jen, Rupesh, Adeline, Steve and Will are chatting about their futures, laughing off Will’s plans to kill three strangers. 16 years later, Jen’s planned a reunion for the gang and when Will doesn’t show up, the four of them begin speculating what might have happened to him since their teenage years.

This book is dark and disturbing while also being a coming-of-age story. As a teenager, Steve was a fan of 80s films where a gang of kids work together against some kind of bad guy over the summer – think The Goonies or Stand By Me for example – and Steve is determined to spend his summer in the same way through a game he has invented called “The Dedication”.

Flicking between past and present, we gradually learn how things turned out this way and the reader is immersed into the gang’s detective work – where is Will? Has he already killed? Who’s next?

I really liked this book. It was slightly too long for me, but gripping for the most part and, having not read something like this before, I’d say that story was pretty original. I really liked the ending too and those last couple of pages certainly weren’t how I expected this was going to play out.

Overall rating: I’d highly recommend giving S.R. Masters‘ debut novel a try. “The Killer You Know” is a gripping story and I enjoyed acting the detective to try and work out the who/what/where/when of this mystery. It’s 4 stars from me – thanks so much to Anne Cater and S.R. Masters for the opportunity to read this one!


One thought on “Blog Tour: The Killer You Know by S.R. Masters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s