Blog Tour: Death and Croissants by Ian Moore

Death and Croissants
by Ian Moore

Publication date: July 1st 2021
Publisher: Farrago
Pages: 230


It’s my stop on the “Death and Croissants” blog tour! Farrago have kindly provided me with a proof copy of this book in exchange for my honest review and a big thank you must go to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for the invite.

If you’d like to learn more about this book, check out the other blogs on the tour and see what people have to say on Goodreads.


Summary:

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that’s the way he likes it.

One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valérie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance.

Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hens … and you don’t mess with a fellow’s hens!

Unputdownable mystery set in rural France, by TV/radio regular and bestselling author Ian Moore – perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s Thursday Murder Club, Julia Chapman, or M.C. Beaton.

Source: Goodreads


Thoughts:

“Death and Croissants” is the first in a new series of Follet Valley mysteries. Set in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley, Richard Ainsworth is a 53 year old Brit who makes his living running a B&B (sorry, a chambre d’hôte). Life is nice and peachy until one day a guest at the B&B goes missing and there’s a suspicious bloody handprint left on the wall of his room. The story continues as Richard and another guest, Valerie d’Orcay, take it upon themselves to investigate and uncover what has happened.

This is a really nice cosy read and I can just tell that this series will become a hit. The characters are each individual with quirky personalities that make them feel real and familiar. The story is also told with great wit which makes this charming mystery a really enjoyable book overall.

I think it was a great decision to have this story told from Richard’s point of view and I particularly liked hearing his inner thoughts throughout. I also liked how well the location was described and it’s clear that the author is using his own life experience in the South of France to create a fictional place that feels like somewhere that we all know well.

If I can criticise anything, it’s that I didn’t find this book to be quite as funny as other reviewers but I think to the right audience, this would an absolutely fantastic read, especially for those already enamoured with this genre. I know that certain members of my family are going to love this one!

Overall rating:  “Death and Croissants” by Ian Moore is an entertaining mystery that’s bound to put a smile on your face. Recommended for fans of a light-hearted cosy mystery. It’s 4 stars from me!

Don’t forget to check out the reviews of other blogs on the tour and if you like what you’ve read about it, support the author by picking up a copy on Kindle or Hardback through Amazon UK or your local bookshop.

One thought on “Blog Tour: Death and Croissants by Ian Moore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s